The complexities of mother daughter relationships

I watched the movie again with the world’s most knowlegable person aka my mom.

I made the offhand comment that Ana and her mom reminded me of her and Nannie (nay-nee…my grandmother). The extreme of love hate. She proceded to tell me what she thought and I felt it was definatley blog worthy.

She stated: In case you’ve forgotten, mothers are people, with feelings, ideals, dreams, and thoughts outside of thier children. Your Nannie wasn’t able to do so many things, and has a gentler personality and alot of regrets. Sometimes mom’s try to live thier life through thier kids and when thier kids decide to go thier own way it’s like failing all over again.  You and I have the relationship we have because of the relationship that Nannie and I have.

 

This made me flash all the way back to the Never Marry A Mexican story. Is it possible that Clemincia’s mother’s mother was so overbearing it made her completly back off from her children resulting in less of a bond?

Published in: on Wednesday, 18 April 07 at 11:39  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lamujerbonitaquelegustaleer.wordpress.com/2007/04/18/the-complexities-of-mother-daughter-relationships/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

