Sandra Cisneros & Reality

I’d like to better establish the point I was trying make in class, about what I walked away with from each story we read this week.

 In the “Eyes of Zapata” Cisneros tells the age old story of a woman who loves a man who is not hers to love, and who creates a situation in which to be okay with the fact that she has to share this man. This is something that continues to happen in everyday life.  She even thought if she had his baby she could keep him.  (Guys that never has and will never work) I know every one of you knows somebody who has liked/loved an unavailable person.  In this case the woman has chosen to take what is availble by way of children and comfort in the form of sex. 

The part I admire most about the story is the changing of this iconic man into an average Mexican man, who was once a boy, and like most men in some ways still is.  She remebers him before he was the great Zapata, and her view of him has not changed with his change in status. 

In “Never Marry a Mexican” I related very closely to this character, even though one class mate thought she was “skanky”.  The 1st half of my childhood we were very, very, very poor.  Then at the end of jr high we hit a windfall and have been blessed since then. When I went from innercity school to the “nicer” school, I felt like an outcast, but when my mom let me go back to my old school, I didn’t belong there anymore either.  What do you do when you feel like there is no world for you to belong to? You create your own world, with your own rules in order to make youself belong. Which I belive Clemencia did through her art and sexual liberation. She did what made her happy as opposed to the “right” thing to do. 

I also felt she was so hateful towards Megan, more because Megan was in her fathers position, as far as being cheated on, and continued to be weak and she was spiteful of that.  I also think She felt that Dru’s father and Owen were almost the same person in actions and appearances.  Even though Owen has done nothing wrong. She basically has misdirected her anger for her mother everywhere else, which is something that many woman have a tendency to do.

I also think to never marry a mexican not only means she wouldn’t marry one, but that no one would want to marry to her because she is Chicano/Mexican, so she just has to make do.

 Now, about her “skankiness”: If your only model of a realationship or marrige is a disfunctional one, would you be in a hurry to model it?  I should think not.  As far as her sleeping around, if she had a penis, would we have called him a bad name? No, we would say he’s young and single, and that’s what he should be doing. I think the same standard should be applied for females. She is single and has no children and no responsibilites other than to herself. She can do what ever she pleases. The only person wrong in this situation is Dru’s father. He made a comitment to Megan, it would be his duty to respect those vows and not allow this woman into thier home and thier lives. If he doesn’t respect his own vows why should that be Clemencia’s responsibility. 

To put it into a realistic prespective, if my husband/boyfriend/dude cheats on me, it’s his fault and my problem is with him, not the woman you would call a skank for messing with him. She made no comitment to respect or honor me, he did.  HE NOT SHE, is the bad guy in this situation, just like Dru’s father and Clemencia’s mother are WRONG WRONG WRONG!

Published in: on Friday, 30 March 07 at 11:13  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lamujerbonitaquelegustaleer.wordpress.com/2007/03/30/sandra-cisneros-reality/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi, you left me a comment on my blog “IN CONTROL”. I think what you said makes a lot of sense. You know, how in “One Holy Night”, Boy Baby leaves Ixchel pregnant because he wants to leave his legacy. Making a place for another of him..Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  2. hi im jessica n im a fan of you liturature among others ive been researching for a school project on your book,womens hollowing creek and want to know more about why you wrote “one holy night” please help me …………thank you soooo much


Leave a Reply

