Underdogs

I only read to the half way point.  Even with all of the background, and the awesome speaker, who made me feel less anti-texan because of my opinion on the events at the Alamo, I still couldn’t get into the story.  So if my fabulous fellow class mates would be so kind as to share what they drew from the novel, the story, or the characters, I’d love to discuss it. 

 I did appreciate the imagery at the very beginning of the novel, where the women walks away “bearing” the child with her.  This play on words in remarkable in the sense that it highlights the many roles that the Mexican woman must play, mother, protector, loyal helpmeet, strong enough to stand alone and more.  I just find it amazing that regardless of what you read that is related to culture of Spanish, the role and idea of the identity of the woman is always in question and always comes into play. 

Published in: on Tuesday, 6 March 07 at 12:46  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lamujerbonitaquelegustaleer.wordpress.com/2007/03/06/underdogs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

